Cundy: Diving is not cheating and Benteke should be applauded

Christian Benteke came in for some heavy criticism this weekend after he was judged to have dived to win a penalty in the dying moments of Liverpool’s game with Crystal Palace.

Down to 10 men, a mistake from Palace keeper Alex McCarthy let Liverpool back into the game before Benteke went down under seemingly no contact from defender Damien Delaney in the 96th minute of injury time.

The under fire Belgian striker then got up to convert from 12 yards, earning 10 man Liverpool the win.

Replays showed minimal contact but Benteke was still criticised, especially by Palace manager Alan Pardew who felt that Benteke’s ‘dive’ robbed his side of a crucial point in the midst of 12 game winless streak in the league.

The striker came out saying that he would do the same again if a similar circumstance arose, and Football Fanzone’s Jason Cundy thinks the striker did nothing wrong in earning his side all 3 points.

Even more controversially, he has claimed that diving is in fact not even cheating!

What Christian Benteke did should be applauded, he did nothing wrong. He won his side 3 points, having been reduced to 10 men and ensured they came from behind to win, who wouldn’t want to do that?

Why is all the talk about Benteke? Damien Delaney is a fool for going to ground and for diving in. He gave the ref a decision to make and the decision went against him. He should know better. 

Any fan that says they wouldn’t celebrate their team scoring a penalty like that is a hypocrite. 

For me diving is not cheating, it’s part of the game. Lance Armstrong’s drug use and the spot fixing that dominated headlines in cricket, that’s cheating, diving certainly isn’t! 

0
2

Have Your Say!